Eighth Grave After Dark by Darynda Jones #Audiobook Review

Title: Eighth Grave After Dark
Author: Darynda Jones
Series: Charley Davidson #8
Release Date: May 19, 2015

With twelve hellhounds after her, pregnant Charley Davidson takes refuge at the only place she thinks they can't get to her: the grounds of an abandoned convent. But after months of being cooped up there, Charley is ready to pop. Both metaphorically and literally since she is now roughly the size of a beached whale. Fortunately, a new case has captured her attention, one that involves a murder on the very grounds the team has taken shelter upon. A decades-old murder of the newly-vowed nun she keeps seeing in the shadows is almost enough to pull her out of her doldrums.

Charley's been forbidden to step foot off the sacred grounds. While the angry hellhounds can't traverse the consecrated soil, they can lurk just beyond its borders. They have the entire team on edge, especially Reyes. And if Charley didn't know better, she would swear Reyes is getting sick. He grows hotter with every moment that passes, his heat scorching across her skin every time he's near, but naturally he swears he's fine.

While the team searches for clues on the Twelve, Charley just wants answers and is powerless to get them. But the mass of friends they've accrued helps. They convince her even more that everyone in her recent life has somehow been drawn to her, as though they were a part of a bigger picture all along. But the good feelings don't last for long because Charley is about to get the surprise of her crazy, mixed-up, supernatural life….

Narrator: Lorelei King
Audio Publisher: Macmillan Audio
Source: Purchased
This is my honest review
Rating: 4 Stars ~ LOVED

Oh Baby, Baby!

I don’t know how Darynda Jones keeps doing it, but with every Charley Davidson book she leaves me wanting more in a good way. The previous book, Seventh Grave and No Body, had me highly anticipating Eighth Grave After Dark, because of BEEP, BEEP, BEEP!

I must say that this particular installment, although still full of it’s unique edge and supernatural snark that I’ve come to love with this series, runs without a few glitches. It took me almost a week to write this review, because I had to absorb all that happened with Charley, Reyes, and the gang. I think the biggest thing that I noticed is that Reyes and Charley aren’t being honest with one another in this book. They just got hitched and they’re keeping secrets from each other. It just didn’t sit well for me on how point A got to point B, but in the end I get why.

Overall, I LOVED this book!

1. Oh baby, baby! It was really nice seeing the maternal side of Charley come out. Oh, the warm and fuzzy feels!

2. We get a few more answers! The whole Mr. Wong revealed thing left me going “Whoa!” and “Oh my gah!”

3. The way this one ends…wow! Again, I’m left highly anticipating the next book, and this time I’m really scared for Charley!

I adore this series big time. Darynda Jones continuously pulls me into this world with the way she molds and shapes her characters and the mysteries they need to solve in every book. There are highs and lows with a bit of the unexpected element. I think a brand new can of worms has been opened with the way this book ends. Charley is heading into uncharted territory, and I can’t wait to see what Ms. Jones has in store for all of us!

Audiobook Review:
I listened to the audiobook of Eighth Grave After Dark, narrated by Lorelei King. I sound like a broken record giving praise to her again, but I can’t help it! My journey throughout this series has been more enriched, because King’s narration is simply top notch. There are TWO surprises! That bonus Reyes POV chapter that’s included in the print version is also included in this audiobook, which surprised me since it’s not usually included in the audio version. Also, there’s a fun interview at the very end with Darynda Jones and Lorelei King. Yay! I say that’s a win-win for me and for all my fellow audiobook junkies!

Book Links

Charley Davidson series reading order
(I recommend reading in order)

First Grave on the Right
For I Have Sinned (novella)
Second Grave on the Left
Third Grave Dead Ahead
Fourth Grave Beneath My Feet
Fifth Grave Past the Light

The following novellas recommended to read only after you've read Fifth Grave Past the Light:

Sixth Grave on the Edge
Seventh Grave and No Body
Eighth Grave After Dark

Author Website

No comments:

Post a Comment